The Cumberland Mountain Trilogy, Volume 1 - The Sheriffs’ Murder Cases

The Cumberland Mountain Trilogy, Volume 1 - The Sheriffs’ Murder Cases

4.11 - 1251 ratings - Source

The Sheriffs' Murder Cases is the initial volume in The Cumberland Mountain Trilogy, a series highlighting life the Kentucky Mountains during the early and middle decades of the 20th Century. Jacob Newton Herald, High Sheriff, or Chief Deputy, of Chinoe County from 1920-45, is the trilogy's central character, and the accounts are in his own words, or as nearly as his granddaughter Jennifer could copy down. Jake, as he was commonly known to friend and foe alike, received a B.A. Degree from Valparaiso University outside Chicago in 1914. He subsequently applied and was admitted to medical school at the University of Louisville. He left that school with a year remaining, in order to fight in the Great War. He emerged from the war a heavily decorated soldier with the battlefield rank of Captain. He returned to his home county in the mountains, where he became involved in law enforcement, serving for a quarter century. In The Sheriffs' Murder Cases, Jake takes the County Sheriff's job for a shockingly immoral purpose and ends up trying to solve a series of puzzling murders. He enlists the aid of family members, deputizes friends and war buddies, and is led down many paths that build suspense and create the dramatic tension that propels the novel to its climax. Keywords: Romance, Revenge, Action, History, War, Kentucky, Herald, Fiction, Iron Fist, Mystery, Veteran1 Below: the Bluegrass region of Kentucky 2 Blind Tiger: a store front liquor operation with a sliding door that permits a ... Virginia, and Tennessee lines 4 the Outside: any area outside the Mountains 5Josiah Combs: Combs went to France ... 7 transportation miners: miners so poor they couldna#39;t pay railroad fares and were transported a€œfreea€ in open cattle cars 8The ... discarded in heaps which often caught fire and would, on occasion, burn for years 39 slat house: houses constructed inanbsp;...

Title:The Cumberland Mountain Trilogy, Volume 1 - The Sheriffs’ Murder Cases
Author: Jack Justin Turner
Publisher:First Edition Design Pub. - 2014-12-11

You must register with us as either a Registered User before you can Download this Book. You'll be greeted by a simple sign-up page.

Once you have finished the sign-up process, you will be redirected to your download Book page.

How it works:
  • 1. Register a free 1 month Trial Account.
  • 2. Download as many books as you like (Personal use)
  • 3. Cancel the membership at any time if not satisfied.

Click button below to register and download Ebook
Privacy Policy | Contact | DMCA